Dokuz Eylul University

DEU was founded on the 20th of July 1982 by “Higher Education Instututes Foundation Law no: 41” as the second state university in İzmir, after Ege University. Dokuz Eylul University started with a total of 24 facilities, which were aquired from Ege University, the Ministry of Education,Youth and Sports, and the Ministry of Culture and Tourism. Dokuz Eylül University has gone through an intense growth process and increased in size by its 10th anniversary in 1992 to 41 institutions, distributed across 5 cities in the Aegean Region. Subsequently  some of these institutions have contributed to the foundation of four other universities:  Adnan Menderes University- Aydın, Muğla University- Muğla, Celal Bayar University- Manisa and Pamukkale University- Denizli.

As of 2017, our university has  15 faculties, 10 institutes and graduate schools, 4 schools, 1 conservatory, 7 vocational schools, 58 research centers and DEPARK making a total of 96 academic institutions. DEU acknowledges the importance of education, research (including knowledge transfer) and innovation in the face of increasing global competition. The mission of DEU is to foster quality improvements, innovation excellence and internationalisation of higher education and research by enhanced transnational cooperation between education and training institutions, businesses and other stakeholders. Thus, DEU aims to contribute to economic, cultural and social well-being of society.

Our university provides education to 75.987 students in total with 3263 academic staff  and 3248  administrative staff.

General Details
  • CITY
    on campus and off campus
    Kültür Mahallesi, Cumhuriyet Blv No:144, 35220 Konak/İzmir, Turkey
  • official website
Turkish universities have a total of 5,439,300 students, 54,000 of them are international students which is only 1% of total. While this percentage reaches almost 10% in many OECD countries such as USA, UK, Australia, Canada, Germany and France.